DaveInDaytona

Pro
Posts: 1696
|
posted September 19, 2003 04:25 AM
Edited By: DaveInDaytona on 19 Sep 2003 05:43
eBay WARNING
I have received two of these emails in the past 3 days. THESE ARE NOT REAL AND NOT FROM EBAY. If you get an email from eBay asking for information it is an identity theft hoax and you are warned not to enter any information. Forward the email, including headers to spoof@ebay.com and they will reply with information on what to do about it. DO NOT FILL OUT A LINKED FORM FROM AN EMAIL.
Just a warning, theives suck.
Sample note:
Status: U
Return-Path:
Received: from microsoft.com ([80.201.64.157])
by timothy.mail.atl.earthlink.net (Earthlink Mail Service) with SMTP id 1a0k8i7BS3Nl3pw0
for ; Fri, 19 Sep 2003 08:13:05 -0400 (EDT)
Date: Fri, 19 Sep 2003 12:10:36 +0000
From: eBay
Subject: 0fficial Notice for all eBay users
To: xxxxxxx
References: <7LAK37B2AFD6D2HA@sprynet.com>
In-Reply-To: <7LAK37B2AFD6D2HA@sprynet.com>
Message-ID: <77BGECGB9B8FGAB0@eBay.com>
Reply-To: eBay
Sender: eBay
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Dear eBay User,
During our regular udpate and verification of the accounts, we couldn't verify your current information. Either your information has changed or it is incomplete.
As a result, your access to bid or buy on Ebay has been restricted. To start using your eBay account fully, please update and verify your information by clicking below :
https://scgi.ebay.com/saw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?VerifyInformation
Regards,
eBay
**Please Do Not Reply To This E-Mail As You Will Not Receive A Responce**
The text below is included in the latest note but in a hidden font
First or standart class? efQ What would you like? in 1957 that suits me. it was Yes No OAUyYub NRIvwLAVAcA wv
Come on! Good. Nicholas Kristof 657 in 1950 6 Real bad. 494 in 1861 in 1986
____________
DaytonaSportbikes Forum
|
DaveInDaytona

Pro
Posts: 1696
|
posted September 19, 2003 04:29 AM
Reply from eBay about above note:
Subject: RE: SP91011 - Your recent report to eBay's Trust and Safety Department . (KMM90709008V74204L0KM)
Hello,
Thank you for contacting eBay's Trust and Safety Department about email
solicitations that are falsely made to appear to have come from eBay.
These emails, commonly referred to as "spoof" messages, are sent in an
attempt to collect sensitive personal information from recipients who
reply to the message or click on a link to a Web page requesting this
information.
The email you reported did not originate from, nor is it endorsed by,
eBay. We are very concerned about this problem and are working
diligently to address the situation. We have investigated the source of
this email and have taken appropriate action. You may rest assured that
your account standing has not changed and that your listings have not
been affected.
We advise you to be very cautious of email messages that ask you to
submit information such as your credit card number or your email
password. eBay will never ask you for sensitive personal information
such as passwords, bank account or credit card numbers, Personal
Identification Numbers (PINs), or Social Security numbers in an email
itself. If you ever need to provide information to eBay please open a
new Web browser, type www.ebay.com, and click on the "site map" link
located at the top the page to access the eBay page you need.
If you have any doubt about whether an email message is from eBay,
please forward it immediately to spoof@ebay.com and do not respond to it
or click on any of the links in the email message. Please do not change
the subject line or forward the email as an attachment.
If you entered personal information such as your password, social
security number or credit card numbers into a Website based on a request
from a spoofed email, you need to take immediate action to protect your
identity. We have developed an eBay Help page with valuable information
regarding the steps you should take to protect yourself.
To get to the "Protecting Your Identity" Help page from the eBay site,
please click on the "help" link located at the top of most eBay pages
and select the following topics when the "eBay Help Center" window
appears:
Safe Trading > If Something Goes Wrong > Identity Theft
We encourage you to review additional information about protecting your
identity found in the eBay Help system. Please click on the "help" link
located at the top of most eBay pages and select the following topics
when the "eBay Help Center" window appears:
Safe Trading > If Something Goes Wrong& > Account Theft > Account
Protection
Once again, thank you for alerting us to the spoof email you received.
Your vigilance helps us ensure that eBay remains a safe and vibrant
online marketplace.
Regards,
Ian
eBay SafeHarbor
Investigations Team
______________________________
eBay
Your Personal Trading Community (tm)
*******************************************
Important: eBay will not ask you for sensitive personal information
(such as your password, credit card and bank account numbers, Social
Security numbers, etc.) in an email. Learn more account protection tips
at:
http://www.pages.ebay.com/help/account_protection.html
_____________________________________________
For our latest announcements, please check:
http://www2.ebay.com/aw/announce.shtml
_____________________________________________
In order to better serve you, we'd like to occasionally
request feedback on our service. If you would rather
not participate, please click on the link below and send
us an email with the word "REMOVE" in the subject line.
If that does not work, please send an email to the
email address below. Your request will be processed
within 5 days.
mailto:cssremove@ebay.com
*******************************************
____________
DaytonaSportbikes Forum
|
necro

Needs a job
My Grandma Is A Virgin
Posts: 2148
|
posted September 19, 2003 04:20 PM
Thanks for the warning.
____________
3829
|
necro

Needs a job
My Grandma Is A Virgin
Posts: 2148
|
posted September 19, 2003 04:21 PM
I rarely use e-bay.
____________
3829
|
frEEk

Administrator
ummm... yeah
Posts: 9660
|
posted September 19, 2003 05:21 PM
note that altho the link says https://scgi.ebay.com/saw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?VerifyInformation, and that is a valid ebay URL, if u look at the source, the link actually goes to tron.phpwebhosting.com/etc...
nasty buggers. they really need to start shooting the people who pull this crap
|
nedragr

Zone Head
Posts: 504
|
posted September 20, 2003 05:42 AM
Got one yesterday also. By the time I'd got home to check my email, the link was already dead. They wanted to update their files!! Excuse me, I'll update my own file thank you.
____________
Real racebikes run premix!!
http://www.bikepics.com/members/nedragr/
|
|
|
|
|