Gajser and Team HRC win MXGP qualifying race in Spain

2018-03-25 01:14
Team HRC’s Tim Gajser has come out on top at the end of the MXGP Qualifying race at the RedSand MX Park – the venue currently hosting the third round of the 2018 Motocross World Championship.

Tim had the perfect start to the race as he rocketed out of his gate aboard his Honda CRF450RW machine to take the holeshot entering turn one. After an early and quick swap of positions with Febvre, the 21-year-old Slovenian rider never looked back and stayed in the lead throughout the whole encounter – despite a late charge by the Frenchman in the final stages. Gajser crossed the finish line 3.4 seconds clear of second place.

MXGP action at RedSand will resume tomorrow morning at 10:45 local time (GMT +2) for the 15-minute warm up, with the two races scheduled to get underway at 14:15 and 17:10.

Tim Gajser 243
It feels great to win the qualification race! I’ve been feeling really good all day; the start was really important and we got a very good one and also speed and consistency were there - despite a couple of mistakes. Overall I’m really happy. The goal now is to do the same tomorrow and have fun, because when I do I’m fast! A big thank you goes to the team; today is a very important day for me and I’m happy to celebrate it by winning the qualification race.

Tim Gajser
Marcus Pereira de Freitas
HRC General Manager - MXGP
We’re obviously extremely happy with Tim’s performance and result. He had a great start – which was very important because the top-5 riders were riding at very similar pace today. Obviously this will be the key for tomorrow as well, because this is a very fast track and it’s not easy to overtake. We will try a couple of setting changes tomorrow during warm up to see if we can improve a bit more. The bike worked well today and the team did a great job, so we’re excited for the two races.

Marcus Pereira de Freitas
Qualifying Race
Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Time/Gap
Tim 243 SLO Team HRC - MXGP 25:30.475
Romain 461 FRA Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team 3.427
Gautier 21 FRA Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing 6.893
Antonio 222 ITA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 7.364
Jeffrey 84 NDL Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 13.205
Jeremy 91 SWI Wilvo Yamaha MXGP 14.396
Max 99 GBR

Source: Honda Racing Corporation

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story