2008-04-19 12:26
Steve Ramon and Ken De Dycker qualified well for round two of the FIM MX1 World Motocross Championships at Bellpuig in Spain on their Team Teka Suzuki WMX1 RM-Z450s.

Ramon - the reigning MX1 World Champion - finished the session in third position just 0.8 seconds behind hard-pack specialist Sebastien Pourcel who's fastest. Having not raced on hard-pack since the Valence International back in February, Ramon's amount of improvement on the track throughout the day and his final qualifying position gives him good confidence going into tomorrow's race.

"The track is good with a lot of grip and it's getting rougher now which will suit me more," says Ramon. "It took me a while to get used to the track because I haven't ridden on a surface like this for some time but in the qualification session my riding came good, my bike was running great and the session went well for me and so I was able to put a good lap in. Tomorrow I'm hoping for good weather and two good starts - if I get those the results should be good."

Currently leading the MX1 World Championship after completely dominating round one at Valkenswaard, De Dycker qualified in fourth position on his factory RM-Z450. Unable to train as much as he'd like prior to this race due to a shoulder injury he sustained in Holland, he is pleased to be on the pace and is confident of success.

"I'm looking forward to the race," said Ken. "It's the first time since Valence that I've raced on hard-pack and even though it's a different track in different conditions I hope the results can be the same as at Valkenswaard. I'm happy with my time in the qualification session and fourth position is okay because here the start is quite fair and not as important as it was in Valkenswaard."

The weather forecast for tomorrow's races is light rain throughout the day.

MX1 Timed Practice:1 Sebastien Pourcel (Kawasaki - France) 1:50:659, 2 Max Nagl (KTM - GER) 1:51:398, 3 Steve Ramon (Suzuki - BEL) 1:51:527, 4 Ken De Dycker (Suzuki - BEL) 1:51:833, 5 Tanel Leok (Kawasaki - EST) 1:51:863, 6 David Philippaerts (Yamaha - ITA) 1:52:105, 7 Billy MacKenzie (Honda - GBR) 1:52:249, 8 Josh Coppins (Yamaha - NZL) 1:52:560, 9 Jonathan Barragan (KTM - ESP) 1:52:758, 10 Julien Bill (Honda - SUI) 1:52:896.

Source: Team Suzuki Press Office

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story

In Our Forums


Bikeland on TwitterBikeland on YouTubeBikeland news on RSS
Cox Racing Group
Bikeland gear
Burnaby Kawasaki