Rain-Drenched Conditions at Monster Energy® Supercross Inside AT&T Park

2008-01-27 11:12
Monster Energy® Supercross in High Definition on CBS Sports Tomorrow

Team San Manuel's Chad Reed, of Tampa, Fla., won his third Monster Energy® AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race at AT&T Park despite a rain-soaked track before 37,322 fans. Battling the pouring rain, Yamaha of Troy's Jason Lawrence, of Carlsbad, Calif., won the first Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class race of his career.

Tonight's race marks the first-time ever that Monster Energy® Supercross will be broadcast in high definition on CBS Sports. The one-hour broadcast takes place tomorrow at Noon EST.

Monster Energy® Kawasaki's Tim Ferry, of Dade City, Fla., led the AMA Supercross class through turn one, winning the $1,500 Progressive Holeshot Award with Torco Fuels Honda's Kevin Windham, of Centerville, Miss., on his back wheel. Reed started mid-pack and staged a remarkable comeback.

Windham moved into the lead on the opening lap before being passed by Red Bull Honda's Davi Millsaps, of Cairo, Ga., on lap four. Reed moved into third place behind Windham on lap five. On the same lap, Windham crashed, allowing Reed to assume second place.

"I did make some mistakes out there tonight, and I was able to get a little luck," said Reed. "I am happy to come back after the bad start I had. I am looking forward to racing on a dry track next weekend in Anaheim."

Millsaps threw away the lead on lap six and Reed was once again handed the lead. Windham finished second and Millsaps finished third.

Motorsport/Xtreme Kawasaki's Thomas Hahn, of Alvord, Texas won the $1,000 Progressive Holeshot Award to open the Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites class main event with Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Austin Stroupe, of Corona, Calif., in tow. Following close behind through turn one, Lawrence opened a huge lead after passing Stroupe and Lawrence.

Lawrence held on for the win followed by Hahn and Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Bret Metcalfe, who finished second and third respectively.

"I am going to revenge myself in Anaheim next weekend," said Lawrence. "I think I should have probably won the first two races there earlier this season, but I made some mistake."

AMA Supercross Class Results, San Francisco

1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha
2. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda
3. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda
4. Jacob Marsack, Berlin, Mich., Honda
5. Grant Langston, Clermont, Fla., Yamaha
6. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda
7. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., KTM
8. Heath Voss, Mico, Texas, Honda
9. Troy Adams, Homosassa, Fla., Honda
10. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings

1. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 97
2. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 78
3. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 57
4. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki, 54
5. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 53
6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 51
7. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 47
8. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 43
9. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 43
10. Joshua Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 40

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results, San Francisco

1. Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha
2. Thomas Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki
3. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki
4. Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
5. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki
6. Gavin Gracyk, Blissfield, Ohio, Honda
7. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
8. Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Suzuki
9. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha
10. Michael Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Suzuki

Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 86
2. Dan Reardon, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 67
3. Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 63
4. Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Yamaha, 59
5. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 58
6. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Kawasaki, 55
7. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 55
8. Austin Stroupe, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 52
9. Gavin Gracyk, Blissfield, Ohio, Honda, 42
10. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Yamaha, 42

KTM Junior Supercross Challenge

1. Geoffrey Galasso, Aptos, Calif., KTM
2. James McGuire, Rexburg, Idaho, KTM
3. Tyler Ellena, Napa, Calif., KTM
4. Goodman Bare, Summerville, S.C., KTM
5. Kyle Norman, Antioch, Calif., KTM
6. Brock Papi, McMurray, Pa., KTM
7. Chase Felong, Oceanside, Calif., KTM
8. Jacob Hiatt, Mesa, Ariz., KTM
9. Cole Reaves, Decatur, Texas, KTM
10. Samuel Hummel, San Ramon, Calif., KTM
11. CJ Barney, Temecula, Calif., KTM
12. Joshua Clower, Lakeside, Calif., KTM
13. Jamis Perrotta, Red Bank, N.J., KTM
14. Daniel Ortega, Antioch, Calif., KTM
15. Ryan Matthews, Sutter, Calif., KTM

The Western Regional AMA Supercross class will air on SPEED Saturday, February 2 at 6:00 p.m. Racing resumes next Saturday, February 2 at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif.

Source: LiveNation

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story

In Our Forums


Bikeland on TwitterBikeland on YouTubeBikeland news on RSS
Bikeland gear
Cox Racing Group
Burnaby Kawasaki