Carmichael, Villopoto Set Fast Times at Budds Creek

2007-06-16 09:04
Live Streaming of Tomorrow's AMA Toyota Motocross Championship on

BUDDS CREEK, Md. - Suzuki's Ricky Carmichael clocked the fastest lap time in practice today at the Monster Energy Budds Creek National, presented by Yamaha, round four of the AMA Toyota Motocross Championship, presented by FMF. Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto set the fastest lap time in AMA Motocross Lites.

Carmichael posted a fast lap time of 1:57.753, which was nearly four seconds faster than the 2:01.304 registered by Honda's Kevin Windham. Yamaha's Chad Reed, who makes his lone AMA Toyota Motocross Championship appearance this weekend at Budds Creek, set a fast time of 2:01.478, good for third overall.

Kawasaki's James Stewart chose to sit out today's practice sessions but is expected to be ready to go for the first practice tomorrow morning.

Villopoto put in a lap time of 2:00.521, which was just over half a second faster than the best time of Yamaha's Jason Lawrence (2:01.121). Honda's Josh Grant was third quickest at 2:01.503.

A new feature has been added for fans unable to attend a AMA Toyota Motocross Championship event in person. For the first time in series history, Racer X Illustrated will present live streaming video coverage of tomorrow's first set of motos, available exclusively on In addition to the live racing, Racer X Illustrated will also provide its usual live audio webcast and post-race show, also available on

The top 40 riders in each division qualify into tomorrow's two-moto main event. Opening ceremonies start at 12:00 p.m. for tomorrow's Monster Energy Budds Creek National, presented by Yamaha, round four of the AMA Toyota Motocross Championship, presented by FMF. Racing starts at 1 p.m.

Saturday Practice Results

AMA Toyota Motocross Championship, presented by FMF

Monster Energy Budds Creek National, presented by Yamaha

AMA Motocross

1. Ricky Carmichael, Tallahassee, Fla., Suzuki, 1:57.753
2. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Ms., Kawasaki, 2:01.304
3. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Yamaha, 2:01.478
4. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM, 2:01.560
5. Timmy Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 2:01.642
6. Grant Langston, Clermont, Fla., Yamaha, 2:01.880
7. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 2:02.239
8. Davi Millsaps, Cairo, Ga., Honda, 2:02.269
9. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 2:02.458
10. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 2:02.537

AMA Motocross Lites

1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 2:00.521
2. Jason Lawrence, Murrieta, Ga., Yamaha, 2:01.121
3. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 2:01.503
4. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 2:01.990
5. Ben Townley, Tallahassee, Fla., Kawasaki, 2:02.015
6. Billy Laninovich, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda, 2:02.641
7. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Id., Honda, 2:02.743
8. Robert Kiniry, La Fayette, N.Y., Kawasaki, 2:02.800
9. Thomas Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda, 2:02.800
10. Matthew Lemoine, Pilot Point, Texas, Yamaha, 2:03.184

Source: Next Level Sports Management

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story