2007-01-25 08:28
The Dew Action Sports Tour, the pro tour of action sports, today announced Orlando, Fla. as the site of the PlayStation® Pro, October 18-21, at the Amway Arena. For the third consecutive year, the Orlando event will be the final of five stops on the Tour. The event will feature the greatest talent in skateboarding, BMX and freestyle motocross.

In making the announcement, Dew Action Sports Tour President Wade Martin said: "We are very excited to be returning to Orlando. Orange County, the City of Orlando and the Central Florida Sports Commission showed a strong commitment to bring the Tour back to their community. The fan support in Central Florida and Orlando has been outstanding and we look forward to bringing the Dew Action Sports Tour /back to them."

"With record-breaking crowds and the crowning of the Tour champions, Orlando has become synonymous with the Dew Action Sports Tour," stated John Saboor, president of the Central Florida Sports Commission. "The PlayStation Pro has quickly become one of our community's great annual traditions. We are very honored to again have the opportunity to host this exciting event."

Orlando will also host the finals of the Tour's official amateur series, the Free Flow Tour, for the first time ever. Skateboard and BMX winners from each of the 15 Free Flow Tour stop will be flown PlayStation Pro in Orlando to compete in the Free Flow Tour Finals, where one overall champion will be crowned in each sport. The winners receive wild-card entries into the competitions to compete against the pros.

Entering its third year, the Dew Tour is the most watched and attended Action Sports property in the world. Attendance for the 2006 Dew Action Sports Tour totaled nearly 250,000 and has had an average of 38 million viewers tuning in via NBC and USA each year. The top athletes in the world will take part in this year's Tour, all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup which will be awarded in Orlando at season's end to champions in each of the six disciplines. The 2006 Dew Cup winners include Nate Adams (Freestyle Motocross), Jamie Bestwick (BMX Vert), Anthony Napolitan (BMX Dirt), Daniel Dhers (BMX Park ), Bucky Lasek (Skateboard Vert) and Ryan Sheckler (Skateboard Park). A complete Tour schedule will be announced in the coming weeks.

Source: LiveNation

Click here to visit our forums to discuss this story

In Our Forums


Bikeland on TwitterBikeland on YouTubeBikeland news on RSS
Cox Racing Group
Bikeland gear
Burnaby Kawasaki