. By Bikeland Staff

Suzuki’s Charles Lefrancois and Boris Maillard raced to podium positions at the weekend’s second round of the ADAC Supercross SX1 series at Chemnitz in Germany aboard their RM-Z machinery.

Lefrancois (Team Twenty Suspension Suzuki) finished second on Friday night with Maillard ( Johannes-Bikes Suzuki) third in Saturday’s race.

Lefrancois led the opening SX1 race, holding the position for the first-half of the race until having to relinquish it to American Tyler Bowers.

Said Lefrancois: "Bowers was a bit faster than me today, but second place isn’t too bad and tomorrow is another day!"

The Frenchman qualified without problem for Saturday’s finale, but a poor start prevented him from taking another podium: "Of course I would have liked to have been more up in front, but with fourth place I secured second position in the overall standings, which is a nice success!"

Just in front of Lefrancois, his fellow countryman Maillard crossed the line in third. He said: "I was able to win the start and that‘s half of it in Supercross."

Tough luck surrounded Florent Richier ( Johannes-Bikes Suzuki). The Frenchman took a brilliant start in Friday’s Final after third place in qualifying, but in the newly-introduced 'Bar2Bar' race, he crashed-out dramatically and injured his shoulder, which led to his retirement.

Fredrik Noren (Team Castrol Power 1 Suzuki Moto-Base) was able to display his experience following many Supercross races in the USA and was on-target for the podium, but the Swede made a mistake. He said: "I lost a lot of time with that and finally had to settle with eighth place."

In the mid-term of the three-round ADAC SX-Cup, Maillard is in fourth place after the and has good prospects for the overall win. His countrymen Lefrancois and Thomas Ramette (Team Twenty Suspension Suzuki) are only three-points behind and occupy sixth and seventh positions, but their chances for the win of the SX-Cup are still realistic.

The third and final event of the ADAC SX-Cup 2017/18 calendar will take place on January 12th-14th at the Dortmunder Westfalenhalle Stadium.

Source: Team Suzuki Press Office