HOME ARTICLES JOIN GALLERY STORE SPONSORS MARKETPLACE CONTACT US  
Register | FAQ | Search | Memberlist
Username:    Password:       Forgot your password?
BIKELAND > FORUMS > ZX-14.com > Thread: WegoIII Sensor... NEW TOPIC NEW POLL POST REPLY
fury


Expert Class
Posts: 426
posted April 27, 2009 02:12 PM        
WegoIII Sensor...

I am trying wire this unit to the bike.
This should be straight forward. (brain fart here.)
Tach input is located where on the bike?
TPS or MAP sensor is located where on the bike?

Does the kawi use a CD ignition? Fly wheel triggered system?

Called Daytona Sensors and they could not help.
No biggie.

Thank you for your time.



  Ignore this member   
dubious


Needs a life
Needs more time to ride!
Posts: 8442
posted April 27, 2009 06:20 PM        Edited By: dubious on 28 Apr 2009 01:21
TPS = right side at throttle bodies
do not use the tach , its innacurrate, take off the coil, #4 is handy right beside the tps ,
that or off the rotor trigger again right side, map sensor... why? its located on the left frame cover,
I don't know which wire on any of these is ground or signal, and would be willing to dig through my book, but have a huge workload of my own right now

The wiring schematics should be at the top of the forum as a sticky ...
all of the parts diagrams are there in adobe as well.

Hopefully somone else will chime in here with more details.... sorry

Lyle
____________
natural selection.....
destiny will overcome intervention.
Some are not worthy of the effort.

  Ignore this member   
fury


Expert Class
Posts: 426
posted April 28, 2009 05:16 AM        
Thank you!

  Ignore this member   
Douglas Home


Zone Head
Posts: 710
posted April 28, 2009 09:05 PM        
I soldered into ECU terminal 26 (yellow / white stripe) for TPS .
Dont forget that the tacho reads 11,200 when the true rpm is10,600
taken of one of the the coils.
If you are mounting under the seat I heard that at the ecu coil 1 is red/white

coil 2 is white/blue
coil 3 iswhite/green
coil 4 iswhite/yellow
goodluck Fury
____________
Doug Mackay Australia

  Ignore this member   
fury


Expert Class
Posts: 426
posted April 29, 2009 03:45 AM        
thanks for the additional help.

Question if I take it off the coil will the rpm still be affected? ( I think it wont but need clarification)
Thank you.


  Ignore this member   
fury


Expert Class
Posts: 426
posted April 29, 2009 03:48 AM        
I wanted to mount this thing in the fairing up front. ( everything still visible.)
I wonder how far I can extend the wires... Maybe not a good idea.
I guess I should mount the unit under the seat.
ECU right there.
Power right there.
Only makes sense.
Thank you!

  Ignore this member   
dubious


Needs a life
Needs more time to ride!
Posts: 8442
posted April 29, 2009 08:27 AM        
I would mount it right under the gauges on the headstay bracket like muzzy did
http://www.bikeland.org/bridges/aboard-the-muzzys-240hp-nitrous-zx-14.html
____________
natural selection.....
destiny will overcome intervention.
Some are not worthy of the effort.

  Ignore this member   
Douglas Home


Zone Head
Posts: 710
posted April 29, 2009 09:05 AM        
Your motors rpm wont be affected , what I meant was that when programing anything taking
RPM of a coil wire, you are now dealing with true readings not what the factory instruments
read .
remember that the real (off the coil) rev limiter cuts in at 10700 RPM if you are setting shift points etc .
By the way just about all my knowledge came from previous posts by Dubious ,
Glad to help by sharing what I have learnt here.
____________
Doug Mackay Australia

  Ignore this member   
fury


Expert Class
Posts: 426
posted April 30, 2009 01:34 PM        
Just a wealth of knowledge!

I phoned Dubious and thanked him.

Would have called and thanked you also.

Your post helped me make it thru the wiring diagram.
Now I just went for a run and am getting ready to download the data...
Lets see what I can tweak...


  Ignore this member   
herbg26


Expert Class
Posts: 137
posted June 09, 2009 07:26 PM        
When hooking up the Wego III, do you need the tach adapter? I thinking of purchasing one..just want to know if I need to also buy the tach adapter

Thanks

Herb
____________
Kawasaki lover

  Ignore this member   
dubious


Needs a life
Needs more time to ride!
Posts: 8442
posted June 09, 2009 11:27 PM        
Not needed, but saves you from splicing then stock harness.
____________
natural selection.....
destiny will overcome intervention.
Some are not worthy of the effort.

  Ignore this member   
herbg26


Expert Class
Posts: 137
posted July 02, 2009 04:57 AM        
For the wegoIII what number for PPR(Pulses per revolution) ,when using the coil for the signal, are you guys using?

Thanks

Herb
____________
Kawasaki lover

  Ignore this member   
herbg26


Expert Class
Posts: 137
posted July 02, 2009 09:13 AM        
Bump
____________
Kawasaki lover

  Ignore this member   
All times are America/Va < Previous Thread     Next Thread >
BIKELAND > FORUMS > ZX-14.com > Thread: WegoIII Sensor... NEW TOPIC NEW POLL POST REPLY

FEATURED NEWS   Bikeland News RSS Feed

HEADLINES   Bikeland News RSS Feed


Copyright 2000-2011 Bikeland Media
Please refer to our terms of service for further information
0.64726805687 seconds processing time