HOME ARTICLES JOIN GALLERY STORE SPONSORS MARKETPLACE CONTACT US  
Register | FAQ | Search | Memberlist
Username:    Password:       Forgot your password?
BIKELAND > FORUMS > ZX-14.com > Thread: tach signal NEW TOPIC NEW POLL POST REPLY
crazybill


Parking Attendant
Posts: 23
posted May 01, 2007 10:35 PM        
tach signal

hey guys.... im testing a somewhat proto-type 2 step unit for the zx14 and need a good tach signal . Im wondering where theyre picking it up for dyno testing ?

Im told the 14 doesnt have a standard tach signal to the tach

  Ignore this member    Click here to send crazybill an AIM message. 
crazybill


Parking Attendant
Posts: 23
posted May 01, 2007 10:51 PM        
btw , i did do a search and found white/red tracer...
i just want to confirm , is this the wire used when dynoing though ?

  Ignore this member    Click here to send crazybill an AIM message. 
BobC


Pro
Posts: 1736
posted May 01, 2007 11:30 PM        
We just clipped the dyno pick-up over a plug lead, prior to the stick coil. Couldn't find a satisfactory signal up at the ecu.
____________
Candy Thunder Blue 2006 ZZR1400
Stock wheelbase
Max: 205.4 mph in 1.25 miles

2012 ZZR1400 in Golden Blazed Green
Brock CT Full System. etc
Max: 203.1 in 1 mile (so far)

  Ignore this member   
buddy


Expert Class
Posts: 335
posted May 02, 2007 12:25 AM        
The manual says the 14 uses a twisted pair to send binary signals to the ecu which decodes the signals and operates the guages. This system they call the CAN system. If cut into it will likely be destroyed.
  Ignore this member   
crazybill


Parking Attendant
Posts: 23
posted May 02, 2007 12:54 AM        
i was afraid of that... im wondering if i can use a signal right off the crank signal . if i can get this to work out itll be a nice alternative to the msd .
  Ignore this member    Click here to send crazybill an AIM message. 
crazybill


Parking Attendant
Posts: 23
posted May 02, 2007 12:58 AM        
also , anyone used the msd and know if it trips the FI light like it does on the busa ? thats one of the "features" we're trying to avoid .
  Ignore this member    Click here to send crazybill an AIM message. 
chunter


Expert Class
Posts: 195
posted May 02, 2007 02:37 AM        
Save yourself hassels and go to the ecu for the signal. Just discovered this past weekend in working with Ray from MSD that if you have an ignition kill tied to the neg side of the coils for an air shifter it interferes with the MSD light. For a 2 step I'd err on the safe side and pick up the signal back at the ecu, right (throttle) side plug white w.blue tracer wire.
  Ignore this member   
crazybill


Parking Attendant
Posts: 23
posted May 02, 2007 06:59 AM        
right on chip... thanks a ton buddy !
  Ignore this member    Click here to send crazybill an AIM message. 
jdrill04


Expert Class
Posts: 238
posted May 02, 2007 12:47 PM        
i am trying to hook a dyna shift light into the tach on the bike. could somebody tell me whitch wire is the tach signal wire and witch one is the power wire. could you also tell me if it will hurt anything if i splice into these wires .
thanks.

  Ignore this member   
smokinzx14


Needs a life
Posts: 10197
posted May 02, 2007 01:34 PM        Edited By: smokinzx14 on 2 May 2007 20:39
quote:
i am trying to hook a dyna shift light into the tach on the bike. could somebody tell me whitch wire is the tach signal wire and witch one is the power wire. could you also tell me if it will hurt anything if i splice into these wires .
thanks.
Use the white wire with red tracer on the coil on the left side of the bike... Get your power from the red wire with the silver tracer coming from the kill switch on the right handle bar .... or go all the way back to the fuse box and tap into the turn sig wire ... or any wire that is hot with the key on and cold when it's off...
____________
Smokin Performance Cycles..
Tampa Bay , FL .. Brocks Performance Dealer ..
Gen 2 ZX14R Best ET 8.43 , Best MPH 164.95

  Ignore this member   
jdrill04


Expert Class
Posts: 238
posted May 03, 2007 11:27 AM        
i hooked into the white wire with the red tracer, and hooked the other wires like you said . i still can not get the shift light to work. it gives the quick flash to acknowledge it is getting power, but when i get up to 8000 it will not flash. any ideas. i was just wondering if i am tied into the right wire on the coil. i did splice into the white wire with red tracer of the coil on the left side of the bike.


  Ignore this member   
lietoome


Needs a job
Posts: 2033
posted June 04, 2007 12:17 PM        
any updates? Trying to hook my Raptor shiftlight up. Thx.

  Ignore this member   
ZXGRIFF


Expert Class
Posts: 184
posted June 04, 2007 01:18 PM        
quote:
i hooked into the white wire with the red tracer, and hooked the other wires like you said . i still can not get the shift light to work. it gives the quick flash to acknowledge it is getting power, but when i get up to 8000 it will not flash. any ideas. i was just wondering if i am tied into the right wire on the coil. i did splice into the white wire with red tracer of the coil on the left side of the bike.




Have you gone well past 8,000? Just wondering if the tach is way off from what the actual RPM is..... Just a thought....

  Ignore this member   
jdrill04


Expert Class
Posts: 238
posted June 04, 2007 02:46 PM        
i went to 11000 , and still nothing. but i figured out the problem i need to tie into two coil wires to get the right signal. i was only picking up half. so i will see what that does.
  Ignore this member   
chunter


Expert Class
Posts: 195
posted June 04, 2007 09:05 PM        
Go back to the ECM to get the signal. If you are running a digital ignition kill it interferes with the signal needed for the shift light.
  Ignore this member   
lietoome


Needs a job
Posts: 2033
posted June 04, 2007 10:30 PM        
I'll be running the muzzy air shifter, so I'll be digging into the ecu for that signal.
thanks for the help.

BTW, Chip, the swingarm is just kick ass. thanks
L2m

  Ignore this member   
CajunBoyz


Zone Head
Posts: 701
posted March 28, 2012 01:43 AM        
quote:
i went to 11000 , and still nothing. but i figured out the problem i need to tie into two coil wires to get the right signal. i was only picking up half. so i will see what that does.


Did you ever get your shift to work, once connected to 2 coils?
____________
"Cajun Boyz with Bad Ass Toys"

  Ignore this member   
All times are America/Va < Previous Thread     Next Thread >
BIKELAND > FORUMS > ZX-14.com > Thread: tach signal NEW TOPIC NEW POLL POST REPLY

FEATURED NEWS   Bikeland News RSS Feed

HEADLINES   Bikeland News RSS Feed


Copyright 2000-2015 Bikeland Media
Please refer to our terms of service for further information
0.54831385612488 seconds processing time