HOME ARTICLES JOIN GALLERY STORE SPONSORS MARKETPLACE CONTACT US  
Register | FAQ | Search | Memberlist
Username:    Password:       Forgot your password?
BIKELAND > FORUMS > ZX10R ZONE.com > Thread: 1988 ZX-10 won't start/throttle stuck NEW TOPIC NEW POLL POST REPLY
eljefeMiguel

Parking Attendant
Chilling
posted February 21, 2008 07:15 AM        Edited By: eljefeMiguel on 21 Feb 2008 06:16
1988 ZX-10 won't start/throttle stuck

I just bought a 1988 ZX-10 that's been sitting for 2 years in a garage. Its very clean, looked like an easy fix up. I'm not very experienced in fixing up cars/motorcycles so i kind of have no idea what I'm doing. I haven't done anything but replace the battery and tried to start it. It turned over but didn't start. The throttle won't budge. I try to turn it any way and it won't move. It feels completely stuck. I don't know if theres like a safety lock or something. Any ideas/comments would help me a ton.

Also, I was thinking about replacing the spark plugs and maybe messing with the carbs. Any suggestions?
Thanks

Ignore this member   
Tool Man

Needs a job
posted February 21, 2008 08:30 PM        
Find a good Mechanic,,,Carbs are varnished up, old gas.
Full rebuild needed

Ignore this member   
TedG

posted February 22, 2008 09:47 AM        Edited By: TedG on 22 Feb 2008 10:23
Well I had an 88 ZX10. The carbs are standard CVs that are nothing special. If they are stuck you have to determine a few things.
1. Is it the twist grip?
2. Cables?
3. Throttle linkage between #2#3 carbs?

DO NOT REEF ON THE TWIST GRIP. Get it free.
I would start with taking apart the twist grip and seeing if that it the culprit. Then with my trusty can of WD40 I would lube all of those parts within an inch of their life. Spraying as much lube down the cables as I could.
Then I would lube all the linkage at the carbs, and begin working the linkage at the cable cam. Gently tapping the linkage while spraying WD40 on things.